• Non-stop 36 Hours digital programming competition begins
  • A total of 80 teams, from 16 states from all over India
  • World’s biggest hackathon
  • 698 problem statements under 26 Ministries
  • Judges Panel from RT&H Ministry, AICTE & Persistent Systems
  • PM Narendra Modi to interact with participants on 1st April, 2017

“Swadeshi, economic and sustainable innovations is the need of the hour and we all must strive incessantly to achieve it”, asserted Shri Nitin  Gadkari at the inauguration of Grand Finale of Smart India Hackathon ’17, a pan Indian 36 hour nonstop digital programming competition, kickstarted at Shri Ramdeobaba College of Engineering & Management, Nagpur to conduct this mega technical extravaganza.


The event at RCoEM, Nagpur was formally inaugurated by Shri Nitinji Gadkari, Hon’ble Union Minister, Ministry of Road, Transport & Highways, Government of India. He was welcomed by the Shri Chandrakantbhai Thakar, Vice Chairman, Shri Ramdeobaba College of Engineering & Management. Shri Nitin Gadkari, spoke extensively on the theme ‘wealth from waste’ like biofuel, lithium battery, ethanol, etc. where he said that knowledge is the locus for futuristic development. He stressed on the fact that research and innovation is the need of the hour and students have a huge responsibility of coming up with sustainable and economically feasible solutions for the betterment of the countrymen. He elaborated on the various ambitious projects that the Ministry of Roads, Transport and Highways is undertaking for cost-cutting benefits. He mentioned about the state-of the art 9km long road tunnel that has been constructed at Srinagar which will be inaugurated by Shri Narendra Modiji, Hon’ble Prime Minister of India on 2nd April, 2017. Shri Nitin Gadkari gave a clarion call to all the students and technocrats to contribute in nation building by encouraging swadeshi technology. He wished the students a technologically sound future. He also interacted with the members of the participating teams to know about their domain of problem statements and how they planned to come up with solutions. Prominently present at the occasion were Shri Dilip Malkhede, Advisor, AICTE;  Shri Govindlal Agarwal, General Secretary, RCoEM;  Shri Rajendra Purohit, Secretary, RCoEM;  Shri Shyamsundar  Rathi, Shri Sanjay Agrawal, Shri Dwarkaprasadji Gupta, Executive Members, RCoEM;  Dr R S Pande, Principal, RCoEM & Nodal Officer, Smart India Hackathon’17, Nagpur; Dr M B Chandak, Assistant Nodal Officer and delegates from NIC, Persistent Systems, various faculties and Heads of the Department, RCoEM. The programme was compeered by Prof Pratishruti Singh-Agarwal.

The icing on the cake for the participating teams at Smart India Hackathon’17 will be the live video interaction of PM Narendra Modi with over 10,000 young innovators across India today late evening. The 36 hour event includes hands-on training sessions by AICTE personnel, who will be also judging the competition. The panel of judges from the Ministry of Road, Transport & Highways includes Mr Sanjay Jaju, Director, NHIDL; Mr R C Palekar, General Manager, NHAI; Mr Vipin Mangla, General Manager, NHAI; Mr Mansoor Ul Haque, Director, MIC; Mr Sandeep Kumar, General Manager, NHIDL; Mr Tarun Srivastava, Director, NIC; Mr Shishir Dani, Project Manager, Peristent; Mr Madan Tiwari, CEO, Click2Cloud and Mr Kunal Kuller, Manager, NHIDL

The judges for the event at Nagpur centre from the Persistent Systems include - Mr Jaydeep  Ayachit, Mr Rahul Gade, Mr Niket Pathak, Mr Sachin Khot, Mr Naresh Waswani, Prashant Chaware, Shailesh Wadhankar, Prakshit Umare, Manoj Dhanorkar, Vinit Kapoor, Laxman Potbhare and Rajeev Reddy.

Recreational activities like yoga and zumba dancing have been planned to ease the young innovators’ minds during the hackathon.  The event will conclude on 2nd April, 2017 at 8:00 pm followed by valedictory function across all the 26 centres where prizes worth more than 50 lakh Rupees will be given away. All the prize winners will be connected to form a ‘Community of Innovative Minds’.

Dr S D Mohgaonkar, Dean Second Shift, RCoEM; Dr D S Adane, Head, Dept. of Information Technology; Dr Priti Voditel, Head, Dept. of Computer Application; Prof S H Deshmukh, Dean, SRC; Dr A A Khurshid, Head, Dept. of Electronics; Prof Lalit Agrawal; Dr M Korde; Dr R Pais, Head, Dept. of Management Technology; Dr J Kene, Dr Y Sonkhaskar, Prof M R Wanjari, faculty and student members have worked relentlessly to make Smart India Hackathon a successful event.

See Photo Gallery