RCOEM bagged a position in the top 100 semifinalists in the Swadeshi Microprocessor Challenge by MeitY

Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology had announced the Swadeshi Microprocessor Challenge under #AatmaNibharBharat Abhiyan to provide impetus to the strong ecosystem of start-ups, innovators & researchers in the country. Under this challenge Swadeshi Microprocessors were made available under Microprocessor Development Programme initiated by MeitY by IIT Madras ( शक्ति processors) and C-DAC (वेगा processors) on FPGA Boards of XILINX, to promote a culture of innovation and entrepreneurship by innovating frugal solutions around home-grown processor ecosystem catering to both global and domestic requirements. Around 6169 teams (about 10,024 Participants) including teams from- 571 Start-up & 3566 Educational Institutions had participated in the challenge.

The SpectroProcessor team of the Centre for Microsystem, RCOEM Nagpur working on the project titled “Design and development of SpectroProcessor for Biomedical Applications” participated in the challenge and shortlisted for the top 100 semifinalists. The team members are Ms. Sangeeta Palekar, Research Scholar of Electronics Engineering Department, Dr. (Mrs.)J P Kalambe (RCOEM, Nagpur) and Dr. Rajendra Patrikar(VNIT, Nagpur) are the faculty mentors.

Each Semi-Finalist Team will be provided with the Cash Prize of Rs. 25,000/-, access to Indigenous Processor Ecosystem and Xilinx Board to develop the Minimum Viable Prototype. Further Rs. 75,000/- may be provided to some Semi-Finalists during the POC demonstration. Amongst the 100 Semifinalists, 25 Teams will get shortlisted for the Finals and will be provided with the Cash Prize of Rs. 4.00 Lakh to develop the Hardware Prototype. Further top 10 Teams will be selected and get support around 2.3 Cr of a seed fund for incubating the Start-up.

RCOEM Conducts Gyanodaya- Induction Program for First Year


Tuesday 6th February, 2021, Shri Ramdeobaba College of Engineering & Management hosted GYANODAYA, the Induction Program for First Year students through online streaming.  The function was inaugurated by lighting the traditional lamp at the hands of Pu. Premprakash Swami, BAPS Swaminarayan Sanstha, Chief Guest for the occasion, Shri Chandrakantbhai Thakar, Vice Chairman, RCOEM, Shri. Kailashchandra Agrawal, Secretary RCOEM, Shri Rajendra Purohit, Secretary, RCOEM, Shri Ashok kumar Pacheriwala, Treasurer, Shri. Bhagwandasji Daga; Executive member RCOEM, Dr. R. S. Pande, Principal, Dr. S. D. Mohgaonkar, Dean Second Shift, Dr. Y. M. Sonkhaskar, Dean Students’ Representative Council (SRC) and Dr. Sanjogta Meshram, In-charge First Year BE.

Dr. Y. M. Sonkhaskar, Dean, SRC introduced, Premprakash Swamiji, the chief guest of the function who enlightened the audience on the meaning of GYANODAYA. Swamiji quoted teachings and gave importance of character building. He briefed and showed the conversation between Pramukh Swami maharaj and former president late Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam. He also emphasized on being sincere and truthful in the ventures one take. He blessed everyone and wished good luck to students for their future endeavors.

Shri Chandrakantbhai Thakar gave the Presidential remark. He addressed the first-year students and asserted upon the importance of innovation. He gave an overview of the functioning and of all opportunities provided by the institute and shared his insights on having a clear vision and objective to be able to achieve a set goal. Also he urged parents to be the guiding light for their children.

The Principal Dr. R. S. Pande delivered opening remark. He focused on the accomplishments of the college focusing on the recent national level achievements of the students, the college efforts and provisions for the overall development of the students and other academic and non-academic attributes of the college. He ended his note by extending warm and good wishes to the newly inducted students. 

In the Morning session of the function, Dr. S. D. Mohgaonkar briefed the various functional committees of the institution, the expectations and the responsibilities of the students towards the institute. He also urged the parents to be an active part of the various events and their responsibilities towards the same.

Also, Dr. Sanjogta M. Meshram (First Year In-charge), Dr. A.J. Agrawal (Dean Academics), Dr. Abhijeet A. Agase (Controller of Examinations), Prof. N. M. Deshkar and Dr. Rashmi Shahu (Counselling Cell), Prof. Kaushik Roy (Career Development & Placement Cell), Dr. Preeti Voditel (Prof. In-charge GEMS), Dr. C. P. Pandhurnekar (Anti Ragging and Disciplinary Committee Member), Dr. J. P. Kalambe (Presiding Officer, ICC), Dr. Cynita Christy (Librarian, RCOEM), Dr. Y. M. Sonkhaskar (Dean SRC), Dr. Amit Anurag (HOD, Physical Education) addressed the students about their respective portfolios and existing facilities in the college.

Concluding the event, Mr. Ankish Agrawal, Cultural Secretary, SRC delivered the vote of thanks and conveyed his thanks to all SRC members for successful conduction of the event. The event was compared by Mr. Dev Paliwal, member of SRC, RCOEM.

RCOEM stood in top 10% of National Employability Award 2021 by Aspiring Minds

Shri Ramdeobaba College of Engineering and Management, Nagpur, Maharashtra is amongst top 10% colleges in India who excelled in AMCAT test. The award is based on the performance of final year students in AMCAT 2021.

About National Employability Award (NEA) : 

The awards started in 2012 by Aspiring Minds, are the only awards given on the basis of actual performance of students on a standardized test and not on the basis of superficial factors like infrastructure, faculty etc. Through these awards Aspiring Minds felicitates the colleges which are in the lead on the basis of scores of their final year (2021 batch) students on AMCAT, India’s Largest Employability Test.

Ramdeobaba College have always stood amongst 10% colleges in Maharashtra state. For the first time Ramdeobaba College of Engineering is amongst 10% colleges in India.