International Conference on Power Electronics, Drives, Energy and Power System on 23rd and 24th December 2019

An International Conference on Power Electronics, Drives, Energy & Power System (PEDEPS 2019) was organized by the department of Electrical Engineering on 23rd and 24th December 2019. It was largely attended by dignitaries from RCOEM, other colleges, industry, press, faculty members, authors, delegates and students. The inaugural function, scheduled on 23rd December was presided over by Shri Chandrakantbhai Thakar, Vice-Chairman RCOEM. Other dignitaries on the dais were Shri Govindlal Agarwal, General Secretary RCOEM, Shri Rajendra Purohit, Secretary RCOEM, Dr. B. G. Fernandes Professor & Head (EE) IIT Bombay, Shri Udayan Pathak, Dy. General Manager Tata Motors Ltd. Pune, Dr. R. S. Pande Principal RCOEM, Dr. V. T. Barhate General Chair PEDEPS-2019 & HoD(EE) RCOEM and Dr. S. B. Bodkhe Conference Chair PEDEPS 2019. The Institution of Engineers (I) Nagpur Local Centre was the knowledge partner and Helix-The Scientific Explorer was the publishing partner.

The inaugural function was hosted by Dr. Gaurav Goyal and Dr. Preeti Kapoor. It was followed by Keynote speeches of Dr. Fernandes and Shri Pathak. In his address, Prof. Fernandes informed about the world class research work being carried out at the National Centre for Photovoltaic Research and Education (NCPRE) IIT Bombay. He appealed the researchers to carry out their research with an objective to apply the developed technology for the benefit of society, particularly the rural population of the country. Shri Pathak delivered an informative talk on the trends leading to the development of electric vehicle across the globe and particularly the progress taking place at Tata Motors. Later, Dr. Fernandes also interacted with participants and students. 

The paper presentation at the conference was scheduled as pre-lunch and post lunch sessions each having two tracks on different specializations of electrical engineering particularly, power electronics, electric drives, energy, power system and IoT applications. Dr. M. V. Aware, Dr. Mrs. M. A. Chaudhari, Dr. P. S. Kulkarni from VNIT, Dr. Nitin Ghawghawe from GCoE, Nagpur, Shri Vineet Kapoor and Shri Syed Husian from Persistent Systems Ltd. Nagpur were the track chairpersons. The tracks were co-chaired by Dr. U. B. Mujumdar, Dr. Mrs. M. V. Palandurkar, Dr. G. N. Goyal, Dr. Mrs. Preeti Kapoor, Dr. Mrs. S. C. Rangari, Dr. Mrs. S. H. Deshmukh, Dr. V. A Huchche and Dr. Piyush Khadke. The conference also had an on-line presentation facility on Skype which was availed by three authors from different places outside Nagpur. Best paper award was given to the winning authors from each track. Before final selection, research papers submitted by the authors were checked for similarity content using plagiarism software and peer-review by experts in that area of specialization. Selected papers were submitted to the Web of Science and ESCI indexed international journal Helix-The Scientific Explorer for publication.

The first day of the conference also witnessed a demonstration of industry products on electrical vehicle charging system and electric drives. It also had a cultural evening and banquet dinner hosted for the delegates, authors and organizers. Undergraduate students form EE department showcased their stage talent and performance. The valedictory function on the second day was prominently attended by Dr. S. G. Tarnekar Former Professor and Head (EE), VNIT, Nagpur. Dr. M. M. Renge, Prof. J. S. Joshi, Dr. T. G. Arora, Prof. N. M. Deshkar, Prof. R. G. Harkare, Dr. S. D. Naik, Prof. R. G. Deshbratar, Dr. Prachi Salodkar, Prof. M. B. Gaikwad, Prof. Pankaj Sawarkar, Prof. Sheetal Umredkar and Mr. Alok Ranjan were the organizers and they guided the PG and UG students to make it a grand success. 

Comments are closed